SURPRISE! SURPRISE!….SURPRISE???


Here’s the story…

Tim

“SHOCKER!” is a better word.. Somehow Corina gets me to go to a Coldplay concert at Jimmy Kimmel.. Yup.. Me at a Coldplay concert.. DON’T TELL ANYONE, I will lose my street cred/MAN Card, etc. Anything for love right? shoot me. So I make it through the concert (strangely enough I still have NO desire to buy Coldplay ANYTHING), we are driving home and Corina says “jeez I haven’t had my period yet, BUT I know it’s coming cuz my boobs hurt. But, it’s taking so long I think I may be PREGNANT”..

All I heard was “pregnant”… At the time you people may think that I panicked.. On the INSIDE I was FREAKING OUT!  On the OUTSIDE I was cool as can be.. “Hey babe, so I’m gonna drop you off and run to the store, be right back.” I don’t know the last time any of you bought a “Pregnancy 3 pack with a free FERTILITY test combo”) but not only are they NOT cheap, the Ralph’s by us kept them in a security LOCK BOX! It’s easier to walk out with booze and tobacco than it is to discretely walk to the checkout with a lockbox full of pregnancy tests!! I knew when I saw that BIG, Clear Plastic box containing a Big Bright Pink box inside EVERYONE was gonna start judging… And they did.. Well screw them! Daddy still HAS IT!!! hahahahaha

I made it home and handed a Test off to Corina and took out the trash.. I walked to the dumpster and by the time I got back Corina was in tears and couldn’t speak. (like she needed to at that point.) I tell her ” Calm down baby! It takes AT LEAST 5 minutes for the results!!” Without ONE second hesitation she says ” For what!? The SECOND LINE TO DISAPPEAR!!??” (still in tears)

Ya well the surprise went away after Test #2.. Corina snuck in the bathroom for the 3rd one thinking I hadn’t noticed.. When she came out (not crying this time) all I said was “Positive, huh?”

As for the Fertility test.. We are selling that thing on EBAY..

I have never had a doubt that I wanted children.. The “with who” was an issue until I met the woman of my dreams. Corina is going to make the best Mom. I can picture her now and in the future with our baby. Watch out PTA!

Corina

Well shit!  Expect the unexpected are now words I live by.  I’m telling you, this was a HUGE shocker and I never thought this would happen…at least not anytime soon.  I had plans! Everyone has plans!  Right?

That night was so emotional and I couldn’t help but cry.  Something I never thought of before is now happening to me and I didn’t know what to do! I stared at the wall for about 30 minutes telling myself this can’t be true.  3 tests later and I still couldn’t believe it. Next day, I called and set up an appointment for a blood test.  I needed an answer from the doctor immediately!

The day of the appointment I fill out paperwork.  Receptionist tells me my first prenatal appointment is in 2 weeks.  WHAT? PRENATAL appointment?!?!  But I’m NOT pregnant!!!  So I thought I wasn’t.  She then sends me upstairs to draw blood.  I asked the nurse, “Sooooo how accurate are those pregnancy tests?”  She said, “There are more false negatives then false positives.”

Wait…huh? what?  I can’t…

I’m clearly SPEECHLESS!!!!  Tim then looks at me and says, “Babe, your pregnant.”  I still wanted to hear the doctor say it, but I had to wait the entire weekend to get results.  The loooongest weekend eveeeeer!

Monday rolls along and I make that call….

Me: “Hello, I am calling for my blood test results.”  This is Corina Garcia.

Receptionist: “Pregnancy test?”

Me: “Yes.”

Receptionist: “Please hold.”  

Me:  (loooongest 5 seconds eveeeer!)  

Receptionist: “Hello, Mrs. Garcia?” 

Me: “Yes?”

Receptionist: “Congratulations… You are PREGNANT!”

Me:  “Ok, thank you. Bye”

WOOOOW!!! I didn’t know whether to cry or to scream.  So I did both.

I am so lucky and thankful to have the most amazing man in my life.  Not only has he been patient with my moodiness (especially during this hormonal time ha!), he also reminds me everyday how much he loves me.   And if I want chili cheese dogs, ice cream, and cheese puffs,  he saves the day.  🙂

3 thoughts on “SURPRISE! SURPRISE!….SURPRISE???

  1. You guys are too cute! You’re going to make wonderful parents, and when the baby is here I think you’ll be happy your plans have changed. Be ready for a big change, but a good one!
    Your gummy bear will be totally worth it! Good luck to you both! 🙂

  2. I throughly enjoyed both of your comments!! Thank you Tim for being such a great support system for Corina. Thrilled for this new journey in your lives 🙂

Leave a Reply

