Guess What?!

IT’S A…

img_0010

I can’t tell you enough how anxious we were to find out the sex of the baby!!  Excitedly, Tim and I walked into our “Fetal Anatomical Survey, Level 2 Sono”. Most commonly referred to as an Ultrasound..

I got weighed in at 149 lbs.. Tim was 209 lbs!! Ive gained a total of 5 lbs and Tim has gained 14lbs!!! Whose pregnant!? Jeeez!

So I get papered up and the Tech comes in and the first thing she asked was, “So do you know what we are doing today?” I immediately stutter out “find out the sex of the baby; 80% accuracy anyway”. She responds with a small laugh and says, “Well yes, but we are actually going to determine the health of the baby through some measurements and make sure he/she is ok”. Tim and I look at each other and gosh we were so anxious to know that Tim was right, that we failed to fully realize there was waaay more at stake here than just the sex of our baby…

Spina Bifida, Down syndrome, heart defects, cleft palate, Cystic Fibrosis, and internal abnormalities are just a FEW problems this Ultrasound can discover.. Now. Tim and I are a little nervous. Tim tells me he is worried because he is older and I didn’t think I could get prego in the first place! Well, Let’s get this party started! Bring on the “wand”

Holy smokes the pictures are AMAZING!! Tim can’t stop smiling and I am blown away by the technology we have in 2012!! Tim counted fingers and toes and I wondered who the baby would look like.   The whole exam took about an hour and some.. Internal “wand” and then a “hand sander” looking thing for the external exam.. All Tim and I heard was “normal”, “this is normal”, “checking blood flow; normal”, “aorta, normal; pulmonary artery, normal”. Did you know that the pulmonary and aortic arteries could be backwards!?!? Wow.. Thank you technology.. Thank you very much..The exam also checked my uterus, placenta and blood flow.. Apparently, I am ALL GOOD!!

The bottom line..Mom and Baby are HEALTHY!!!  (Dad is alright)

And now that we know, we can proceed with the baby planning.

  We also decided on a name…

Don’t forget to play our baby pool game!!  Visit the site below and type in corinatim!!  Thank you to all our blog followers!!  It’s always nice to hear your comments. 🙂

ExpectNet: Corina and Tim’s Baby Pool

4 thoughts on “Guess What?!

  1. I am so happy your having a boy..Tim must be very happy..a boy to carry on his name. Congrats. May God keep Mama and baby Liam healthy.

  2. Congrats Corina!! I am super exicted for you. Somehow I guess girl but my inner voice was telling me boy! Hope the rest of the process is smooth and you get to meet your little Liam in a few months!

    • Thanks Ruth!!! I hope it’s smooth too. I’m a bit scared of the labor part, but that’s because I’ve heard crazy stories. lol 🙂 We will keep you updated.

Leave a Reply

