QUINOA ENCHILADA CASSEROLE

QUINOA-ENCHILADA-CASSEROLE

I’m not kidding when I say, the casserole looks way better than the leftovers you see pictured above.  So just imagine a 9×13 dish filled up with lots of goodness.  The cheese bubbling at the top is just the beginning. OMGeeeee!  I hope you enjoy this as much as I did.    The original one didn’t have meat so I added ground beef.  I also added more cheese. Because that’s how we roll. 😀 You can easily alter the recipe to your liking once you get familiar with the taste.  I added a little garlic salt and green onions.  Next time I am going to try it with shredded chicken and brown rice.  The best part about this dish, it’s healthy! Let me know how it turns out!

INGREDIENTS:

1 cup of cooked Quinoa

1 lb of cooked ground beef (I seasoned it with a little garlic salt)

1 (10oz) can of mild enchilada sauce *I used Las Palmas. I bought 2 cans and used a little more than 10oz since I added the beef.

1 (4.5oz) can of fire roasted chopped green chiles *I used La Victoria

1/2 cup of frozen corn or canned corn *I used frozen

1/2 cup of canned black beans drained

2 Tablespoons of chopped fresh cilantro

1/2 teaspoon of cumin

1/2 teaspoon of chili powder

Kosher salt and pepper to taste

3/4 cup of shredded cheddar cheese divided

3/4 cup of mozzarella cheese divided

1 tomato diced

1 avocado halved and diced

Diced green onions

INSTRUCTIONS:

In a large saucepan cook the quinoa according to package instructions.  If you are going to use ground beef in your casserole, brown while quinoa is cooking.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  While ground beef is browning and quinoa is cooking, lightly oil a 9×13 baking dish.  If you don’t add meat, use an 8×8 dish.

In a large bowl stir cooked quinoa, cooked ground beef or chicken, corn, black beans, season with salt and pepper, cilantro, cumin and chili powder.  Stir in 1/2 cup of the cheddar cheese and 1/2 cup of the mozzarella cheese.

Pour mixture into baking dish.  Top off with remaining cheese (I added more).  I also added green onions on top. Bake casserole for about 15 minutes until cheese is melted and bubbly.

Garnish with diced avocado and tomato.

ENJOY!

 

 

Leave a comment